Universities and School Guide

Prince Abubakar Audu University courses offered

In the heart of Kogi State, Nigeria, Prince Abubakar Audu University stands tall as a symbol of educational excellence and innovation. Established in 2002 and formerly known as Kogi State University, this institution has evolved into a powerhouse of knowledge, offering a diverse array of undergraduate and postgraduate programs across ten faculties. Let’s delve into what makes this university a unique and coveted destination for aspiring students.

A Storied History:

Rooted in the visionary proposals of the Kogi State Government in 1996, the university officially began its academic journey in 2003. Renamed in 2015 to honor the influential leader Prince Abubakar Audu, the university embodies a rich legacy of commitment to quality education.

Academic Programs:

Prince Abubakar Audu University takes pride in its comprehensive academic offerings, spanning science, technology, engineering, arts, social sciences, and humanities. With over 500 dedicated lecturers, the institution caters to a diverse student body exceeding 10,000 students.

Accreditation and Global Recognition:

Endorsed by the National Universities Commission (NUC) of Nigeria, the university meets and exceeds national educational standards. Additionally, its affiliation with the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU) underlines a commitment to global academic excellence.

Vibrant Student Life:

Beyond academia, the university fosters a vibrant student life through numerous organizations, including a dynamic student union, sports association, and cultural groups. State-of-the-art facilities, including a library, computer center, sports complex, and student center, contribute to the holistic development of students.

Central Location:

Strategically situated in Anyigba, Kogi State, the university is easily accessible, approximately 100 kilometers from the state capital, Lokoja.

Faculties and Popular Courses:

Prince Abubakar Audu University offers a diverse range of courses across ten faculties:

  1. Faculty of Agriculture: Nurturing sustainable agriculture.
  2. Faculty of Arts and Humanities: Exploring literature, culture, and the humanities.
  3. Faculty of Education: Shaping future educators and leaders.
  4. Faculty of Engineering: Pioneering innovation and technological advancement.
  5. Faculty of Law: Nurturing legal minds.
  6. Faculty of Management Sciences: Forging business and administration leaders.
  7. Faculty of Medicine: Advancing healthcare through education and research.
  8. Faculty of Natural Sciences: Unveiling the secrets of the natural world.
  9. Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences: Preparing pharmaceutical experts.
  10. Faculty of Social Sciences: Analyzing society, politics, and economics.

The university offers popular courses such as Accounting, Agriculture, Computer Science, Medicine and Surgery, and more.


Prince Abubakar Audu University emerges as a beacon of higher education, committed to providing holistic learning experiences. Its diverse faculties and popular courses reflect a dedication to nurturing talents and preparing students for future challenges. As you explore educational opportunities, consider this institution – a gateway to academic excellence, innovation, and a brighter future. For a comprehensive list of programs, visit the official university website. Unlock your potential at Prince Abubakar Audu University.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button